The Power of Reflection

Reflection has always played an important role in my life, in regards to education and just life. This past week has allowed me to grow as a graduate student and as a teacher. I pushed myself out of my comfort zone and allowed others to read and analyze my work. I created and implemented assignments that in the past I would not have done. I read about the great things that educators are doing in their classrooms, which has been inspiring.

At the end of last week I had to the opportunity to listen to my classmates present a final “make.” Throughout the semester I have read their blog posts and have learned to understand them. And it was a new way of getting to know someone. In the past most of my interactions with classmates has been face to face. But here, through reading about their experiences and their thoughts and ideas about equity in the classroom has introduced me to a whole new way of getting to know someone. At times it was a struggle for me to just read on. There were times that I was desperate for real-life conversation. But what does real-life conversation mean anyway in 21st century-learning? I have discovered that while I sometimes need the face to face dialogue, blogging is absolutely real-life communication and it is something that I think I should evolve with.

It was exciting and nerve-racking presenting my final make and listening to other’s ideas. I wanted to say so much more. But time affected me, big time! Everyone provided us with some really fantastic ideas that will create equity in education. We all share a goal and that goal is to create what is best for our students. And we are all doing just that! I noticed passion behind their ideas. I noticed dedication. All of their small moves throughout the semester were evident in their planning. I am one that is always eager to hear feedback. This feature during our online meeting was greatly appreciated it! I learned that there are other districts currently implementing my idea of a multicultural event. It was helpful to hear about what they are doing and how I can improve my idea. It was also really important for me to hear from another teacher, Tracey, an art teacher. She expressed that she loves being asked to help with events like this. Considering I am hoping to create cohort groups, made up of students, staff, families and community members, this information is useful.

My small moves, some bigger than others, have helped me see the change I want to bring into my classroom. Seeking equity in connected learning and education has been inspiring, motivating and eye-opening. I have been pushed to try new things. I have seen some successes and some failures. The six principles of connected learning make achieving equity in the classroom manageable and authentic.  One particular principle that stays with me is peer-supported. I want my students to rely heavily on one other for support and collaboration. I want them to learn from each other, just like I have learned this semester from my classmates.

Thank you #ED677 for making this making experience enjoyable, educational and connective!

Leave a Reply

